Argentina’s Looming Abyss: A Disillusioned Journey through a Stifled Tech Landscape.

Bruno
3 min readMar 18, 2023

Facing the inescapable void of disillusionment.

I must preface my account with a personal anecdote, which, regrettably, concludes without any semblance of triumph, lacking any heroes or moments of significance. My name is Bruno, and I was born in San Juan, Argentina, the seventh least populated province in the country. Although blessed with ample sunshine, wine, and mining, San Juan experiences a perpetual stagnation in productivity.

My father, a computer technician, inadvertently introduced me to technology far earlier than my peers. However, this exposure was not the result of financial means, but rather, the simple fact that my father’s profession necessitated the presence of computers, printers, and floppy disks at home. By the tender age of five, I was already exploring the digital world, blissfully ignorant of the potential it held.

My early exposure to technology continued as I grew older, and in 2015, I resolved to establish a technology-based business, focusing on digital transformation. It is important to note that at no point during my upbringing was entrepreneurship or technology celebrated or promoted by society, government, or private initiatives. In San Juan, the traditional path is to attend school, secure a government job, and establish a family, with no mention of venturing into the realm of entrepreneurship.

Despite these cultural limitations, Argentina and Latin America now face a rare opportunity to become global technology leaders, leveraging the abundant talent and potential for educational advancement. However, when examining our current ecosystem, it is painfully evident that we are plagued by systemic failures. Misguided attempts by previous governments to foster technological growth, such as distributing free computers, have failed to address the underlying issues of culture, education, and mindset that ultimately inhibit our progress.

My personal entrepreneurial journey has been marked by frustration, as I have experienced both successes and abject failures without any meaningful support from public or private entities. In Argentina, entrepreneurship is not only bereft of assistance but also burdened by a crippling tax system and oppressive regulations that stifle innovation and growth.

The crux of the problem is not solely the responsibility of the government or the private sector but is deeply rooted in multiple aspects of our society. Real change must begin in schools, family discussions, and the way we perceive success. Analyzing cases of innovation, such as Israel’s remarkable accomplishments in the face of adversity, highlights the importance of education, long-term vision, and the collective efforts of all stakeholders.

Alas, I harbor little hope that such transformation will occur in Argentina. Our nation seems destined to falter once more, due to our inability to embrace non-market strategies and implement the radical changes necessary for true progress. The tools and knowledge gleaned from my educational experience serve only to reinforce the bitter truth: we are staring into the abyss of yet another colossal failure.

--

--

Bruno

MSc, MBA. Machine learning Researcher @ Deloitte. From 🇦🇷 based in NYC.